jump to navigation

A joke? May 17, 2009

Posted by deewane in Uncategorized.
trackback

I burst out laughing when I read this in the June issue of Reader’s Digest (that reminds me, what in the world happened to my May issue? I swear the mailroom kids are swiping all my good mags, did I mention that I live in the university dorms?). I think I want to learn something from this joke (way to go to make it funnier eh?!?) but can’t articulate at this moment, too busy laughing you see! So here it is:

“Every ten years, the monks in the monastry are allowed to break their vow of silence to speak two words. Ten years go by and it’s one monk’s first chance. He thinks for a second before saying, “Food bad.”

Ten years later, he says, “Bed hard.”

It’s the big day, a decade later. He gives the head monk a long stare and says “I quit.”

“I’m not surprised,” the head monk says. “You’ve been complaining ever since you got here.”

😀

Comments»

1. areason2write - June 4, 2009

i have missed Readers Digest in India – when I got home I bought this issue and read it cover to cover – laughed at this one too. 😎

2. deewane - June 9, 2009

Oh noes!! You do get RD in India! I practically grew up reading that magazine. My dad had issues as old as 1964(bought 2nd hand when HE was in school!), and I felt truly betrayed when they changed the format from the index on the cover to the more conventional one and switched from printing a beautiful painting on the back cover to the horrible ads. Those paintings were probably my first brush with culture and I felt thrilled and intimidated all at the same time just seeing those tiny printed replicas of the original (I know I must have been young, but what can I say I was weird :P)


Leave a Reply

